Connect with us


Wike, El-Rufai, Oyetola make list as ministerial nominees is unveiled



Wike, El-Rufai, Oyetola make list as ministerial nominees is unveiled

Some former governors like the immediate past Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, ex Kaduna governor, Nasir El-Rufai, have made the list of ministerial nominees.

The list was forwarded by President Bola Tinubu to the Senate earlier today as the ministerial list is coming two days before the President’s deadline as stipulated by the constitution as amended by the ninth Assembly.

The media aide to the Senate President, Jackson Udom, stated earlier that the authentic ministerial list of President Bola Tinubu would be unveiled today.

According to him, Nigerians should stop speculating and wait for the unveiling of the nominees, stating that , “I saw the purported list too just like every other person did, let’s wait till tomorrow (today). Don’t speculate, tomorrow (today), you’ll see the list.”

It was also reported that popular economist, Olawale Edun, a former Deputy governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Adebayo Adelabu, the women leader of the All Progressives Congress, Betta Edu, all made the list.

Former Minister of Health under Goodluck Jonathan who recently rejected an international job, Ali Pate. is also said to be on the list.

Read Also: TENSION as NDLEA operatives shoot two dead during Lagos raid

Others who made the President’s cabinet are Lateef Fagbemi (SAN), former Cross River governor, Ben Ayade, his colleague from Osun State, Gboyega Oyetola, and the President’s Special Adviser on Media, Strategy and Special Duties, Dele Alake.

Meanwhile, in a statement on March 16, Tinubu said he would set up a “government of national competence.

“There has been talk of a government of national unity. My aim is higher than that. I seek a government of national competence. In selecting my government, I shall not be weighed down by considerations extraneous to ability and performance.”

The delay in announcing the cabinet ministers has led to the emergence of several lists of ministers, which the government itself disowned.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply