Connect with us


Kenya swears in Samoei Ruto as President




The Republic of Kenya has officially sworn in its 5th President, William Samoei Ruto, since its independence in 1963. The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Karasani Stadium in Kenya. The President was sworn in by Chief Judge Martha Koome, during which he swore oaths of allegiance and execution of the functions of the office.

Ruto also appended his signature to the corresponding documents, as seen in the live broadcasts from the ceremony on Tuesday. With his inauguration, Ruto becomes the fifth president of Independent Kenya and the second ethnic Kalenjin after the late Daniel Arap Moi to hold the office.

Hours before his inauguration, the outgoing president Uhuru Kenyatta congratulated Ruto on his victory in the August 9 poll.

Kenyans quoted Uhuru as saying, “As a hallmark of our democracy, therefore, I will, before God and my fellow countrymen, handover the instruments of power to our new president at the Moi International Sports Center Kasarani and with that, the fourth administration will come to an end and the tenure of the fifth administration will begin.”

“My family and I join all Kenyans in wishing the very best to our next President Dr. William Samoei Ruto and extending to him our warmest congratulations for receiving the mandate of Kenyans to lead us as our 5th president.”

The Vice President of Nigeria, Yemi Osinbajo, was also present at the swearing-in ceremony. Osinbajo’s media aide, Laolu Akande, made this known in a tweet which read, “VP Osinbajo now in Nairobi, Kenya where he is representing Nigeria at the inauguration of Dr. William Ruto as Kenya’s fifth President today.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply