Connect with us


Ex-Minister, Akpabio Emerges Senate President In 10th Assembly



Former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, has been elected as Senate President during the inauguration of the 10th Senate.

The former Akwa Ibom state governor was elected on Tuesday after 109 Senators converged for the election of key officers of the upper legislative chambers of the National Assembly.

Senator Godswill Akpabio, an All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmaker from Akwa Ibom North West and Senator Abdulaziz Yari from Zamfara North West, who is also of the APC, were the two contenders for the office of the number three citizen.

Read Also: Don’t judge me by my performance as minister – Akpabio

Earlier, Senator Ali Ndume from Borno South, nominated Akpabio while Senator Elisha Abbo from Adamawa North nominated Yari.

It was reported that as soon as he nominated Yari than some lawmakers started protesting but Abbo stood his ground while shouting on top of his voice.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply